Sunday, December 25, 2016

HOWTO: delete the fortigate admin account

The installed out of the box  fortigate  has a user account named  "admin" . It's a pre-defined account that can not be deleted. You have away to eliminate it tho in a round-about way.

1st create a new local account with Super_User profile

config sys admin
     edit mynewadmin

2nd, rename the "admin" account to a new named


config sys admin
  rename admin to  deladmin

3rd now delete the newly defined  named ensure  the account is not in used or logged in.


config sys admin
    delete  deladmin

The  reserved names of "" and  ""  can not be used or eliminated

NSE ( network security expert) and Route/Switching Engineer
kfelix  -----a----t---- socpuppets ---dot---com
     ^      ^
=(  @  @ )=
        /  \

No comments:

Post a Comment